You are here: Home > Sports > Baseball > Umpires
Umpires

 

Play Ball!

 

 

Now Hiring Experienced Umpires!!

If you or someone you know has experience being an umpire, we are hiring!  Please send an email to psaumpires@gmail.com or baseball@psaplano.org. Include number of seasons of experience and league types (kid pitch, age league, etc.), if any.

 

We are looking for energetic, dependable individuals who are interested in becoming PSA umpires. Perhaps you are a returning umpire or perhaps you are new to umpiring. Whatever the case, we hope you will consider training with PSA.

 

If you are interested in signing up to become an umpire here at PSA, please email Baseball@psaplano.org. The cost will be $25 for new umpires when you show up to the intro meeting, cash only. For more information, please read more information below.

 

Umpire Training Dates - UPDATED DATES - TBD Umpire Meeting at 7:30pm at PSA1

 

 

All Umpires - Registration $25 Cash for New Umpires (brought to Intro Meeting)

Upstairs.

Date

Time

Purpose

Location

TBD

7:30 pm – 8:30 pm

General Meeting - Mandatory

PSA1

Training in April

6:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Umpire Training – New & Existing

PSA 1 Turf
TBD

7:30 pm – 8:30 pm

General Meeting – Mandatory

PSA1

TBD

7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Field Training – New & Existing

TBD

Note: For new umpires to PSA; $25 is charged for training 
Existing umpires must attend one mandatory meeting

*Umpires must attend Intro Meeting and must attend at least 1 of 2 training meetings for their level of games.

*If it rains, training will be held at PSA 1 in the Large Meeting Room Upstairs or on the Indoor Turf.
  

* Intro Meeting will be at PSA 1 (6500 Preston Meadow Drive, Plano, TX, 75024) in the Large Meeting Room Upstairs.

*Umpires must attend Intro Meeting on 8/19 and must attend at least 1 of 2 training meetings for their level of games.

* If it rains, training will be held at PSA 1 in the large conference room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you have questions regarding our umpire program please contact Larry Schnitzer, coachschnitz@gmail.com 


Guidelines dictate that all PSA sports officials must be 14 years old or older.  If you have questions regarding this policy, please contact
dhapes@psaplano.org in the PSA business office.

 

 

  
PSA Umpires Responsibilities:
  1. Submit an Independent Contractor Agreement form to PSA and pass the background check.
    (Submit the form NOW to get that process started!)

  2. Know the Rules of Baseball

  3. Know the PSA League Rules

  4. Successfully complete Umpire Training

  5. Obtain your own FULL uniform and gear

  6. Understand the Umpire Scheduling software

  7. Have Internet access (for scheduling purposes)

 

Training Schedule

See the table at the top of the page

 

Before You Arrive At Training:
  1. Read the Rules of Baseball

  2. Read the PSA League Rules

  3. Submit an Independent Contractor Agreement form.  A new form MUST be submitted each year.

 

 On Training Day:
  • Arrive at least 10 minutes early (as you will when umpiring games).

  • Sign in and be ready before training begins.  We will cover a substantial amount of material.

 

Uniform Requirements:

Levels

Uniform

All Levels

Official Umpire Shirt

Umpire Hat

Black Shoes

Grey Slacks

Ball and Strikes Clicker

Watch or other device to keep game time

 

Plate Umpire – Mask, Chest Protector, Shin Guards

 

Note: If you have been approved for a Plate Umpire, always bring your gear

 

Umpires must have the same color shirt

 

Payroll Dates: 

Starting Pay Period

Ending Pay Period

Payroll Due Date

Pay Date

Monday, March 18, 2019

Sunday, March 31, 2019

Monday, April 1, 2019

Friday, April 12, 2019

Monday, April 1, 2019

Sunday, April 14, 2019

Monday, April 15, 2019

Friday, April 26, 2019

Monday, April 15, 2019

Sunday, April 28th, 2019

Monday, April 29, 2019

Friday, May 10, 2019

 Monday, April 29, 2019

 Sunday, May 12, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019 Friday, May 24, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019 Sunday, May 26, 2019
Monday, May 27, 2019 Friday, June 7, 2019
Monday, May 27, 2019 Sunday, June 9, 2019 Monday, June 10, 2019 Friday, June 21, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019 Friday, July 5, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019 Sunday, July 7, 2019 Monday, July 8, 2019 Friday, July 19 2019

 

 

 Pay Scale:

League Level

Plate Umpire

Field Umpire

Mod. T-Ball

N/A

N/A

1st & 2nd  Grades Coach Pitch

$24

$24

2nd Grade MKP

$30

$26

3rd & 4th Grades

$34

$30

5th & 6th Grades

$38

$34

7th & 8th Grades

$42

$38

High School $45 $45

 

Umpires How To

If you would like to become a PSA umpire, please contact Baseball@psaplano.org.

© 2018 by PSA Plano Privacy Statement|Terms Of Use